Going out of the way to say, “I love you”

BB often tells us she loves us.  She’ll come out of her room, after bedtime, just to say, “I love you,” then go right back to bed.  I admit, I wondered if there was a bit of manipulation going on… just a kid trying to stay up a little longer and knowing how to play a parent.  The thing is, she never asked for anything and she’d go right back to bed.  She’ll say “I love you” any old time.  It really struck me recently, at a family event, when she took off from a cousin and said, “I’m going to tell MawMaw I love her.”  The cousin said, “BB’s weird.  She goes the longest way just to tell someone she loves them.”  I realized then, this cousin had seen this before – going a long way for this purpose.  I happened to follow BB up the stairs and she didn’t fulfill her mission — not then, anyway.  She was distracted by others she ran into, in her 4-year-old way, but I’m willing to bet she fulfilled that mission a bit later. 

What makes this so meaningful for me, is that saying “I love you” took awhile in coming.  I remember telling her for a long time that I loved her and never hearing it from her.  I never asked her to say it, as I wanted it given freely.  I didn’t trust anything but.  What I did do was label her acts of freely given love.  When she initiated a hug, for instance, I said, “I love you, too.”  Anyway, here we are, and I gotta say, as someone who never said this easily, it’s really nice.

2 Responses

  1. So precious!!

  2. So sweet.

Leave a Reply

