Rapture… in seven days?

I’ve been following this story for about a year and a half.  In fact, I’ve had the date on my calendar so I wouldn’t miss it. 

The number 5, Camping concluded, equals “atonement.” Ten is “completeness.” Seventeen means “heaven.” Camping patiently explained how he reached his conclusion for May 21, 2011.

“Christ hung on the cross April 1, 33 A.D.,” he began. “Now go to April 1 of 2011 A.D., and that’s 1,978 years.”

Camping then multiplied 1,978 by 365.2422 days – the number of days in each solar year, not to be confused with a calendar year.

Next, Camping noted that April 1 to May 21 encompasses 51 days. Add 51 to the sum of previous multiplication total, and it equals 722,500.

Camping realized that (5 x 10 x 17) x (5 x 10 x 17) = 722,500.

Or put into words: (Atonement x Completeness x Heaven), squared.

“Five times 10 times 17 is telling you a story,” Camping said. “It’s the story from the time Christ made payment for your sins until you’re completely saved.

“I tell ya, I just about fell off my chair when I realized that,” Camping said.  SEE FULL ARTICLE

Nevermind that Camping was wrong on September  6, 1994, when his earlier Rapture prediction was wrong.  Ooops, we’re still here… and fascinatingly there are still Camping followers who believe that the end of days is here – in seven days.  Camping simply made a math error.  Most of us will be burning in a fiery furnace here on earth for 153 days, while a select few believers will be whooshed off to heaven next Saturday.  After the 153 days all of the universe will be destroyed. 

You know, I try to be respectful of many religious beliefs, but this?  I’m really having a hard time.  Maybe it’s just because I’m terrible at math.  And another curiosity… why is Family Radio, Camping’s website still collecting money at their website?  Will they be able to access cash, credit, or debit in Heaven?  Curious minds want to know.  Am I being disrespectful?  Perhaps they simply neglected to remove the donation form from their website.  They are very busy trying to save others.  They are nice that way and it IS a busy time.  Only seven more days.

Yes, I am fascinated by this… squared.

3 Responses

  1. I have to giggle at those who do doomsday math. The problem with this is someone’s day is someone else’s yesterday.

    I’ll raise a toast in 7 days and 7 days + 1 (to account for the international date line) in his honor.

    And giggle.

  2. I actually do know a person who is all set for May 21. She is the mother-in-law of a friend. Trust me, I cannot look her in the eye and keep a straight face!
    I just read a satirical article on this a few days ago. According to that author, Rapture cannot be on the 21st as his milk does not go bad until the 22. Also, American Idol will not yet have chosen the year’s Idol. The Cubs still have not won a World Series…
    I saw another article which attempted to disprove this by using math and logic…… reminded me of the confusion Sarah Palin faces daily!

  3. There’s no way that the end of the world would happen before the last episode of the Oprah Winfrey show. LOL!!

Leave a Reply

