Three years ago…

… we were within days of becoming an official family.  Hubs and I were long asleep, as we had gone to bed at 3:00 in the afternoon, trying to move toward China-time, planning to get up at 1:00 AM to catch an early morning flight to China to meet the BING.  She, however, was living the normal life… whatever that was, exactly.  Clueless to the changes about to occur.  Happily, she has a very adaptive personality, which we saw quickly.  I believed then and still do, that it got her through that transition to us and every other difficult transition she had as a little one.

As I do every other year at this time, I’ve been reading through my archives (November 2007, if you’re interested) to see how our trip was, as I love to bring back those memories through the words and pictures.

One thing that stuck out is a silly song I sang to BB on the flight from Chongqing to Guangzhou:

We’re going to Guangzhou
We’re going to Guangzhou
Hi ho the merry oh
We’re going to Guangzhou

It helped her through a brief, difficult time of the flight.  I’ve sung some version of that song to her all the days since, constantly telling her where we’re going.  Now, sometimes, she sings it to me… her own versions, telling me where we’re going.  We’re still together, going places, and singing about it.  I love it.

One Response

  1. Happy Anniversary. I don’t think any of us will ever forget those days.

Leave a Reply

