Hike

Reaching for butterflies

She asked me why people go hiking, because she asks why about everything.

I told her that some people like to get out in the woods and see what’s there.  It’s something different and you never know what you’ll see. 

Then I asked her if she liked hiking.  She just said, “yeah.” 

I love her flapping, looking absolutely ethereal.

She was intent on being quiet, as she was really hoping we’d see a deer.  We didn’t.  “But where are the deer, Daddy???”

We also had a big party for her this weekend, but I didn’t take a single picture.  Others did and when I have more to share, I will.

3 Responses

  1. those why questions are fun to answer. we go a little nuts with them sometimes here. amazing how it helps them acquire new language.

    we love hiking ;O)

  2. Love the picture and experiencing the hike with you.

    We are in the “why” phase, too, and it is starting to drive me a bit nutty.

  3. Here is a Thoreau quote which may help. It’s posted prominently in my own home.
    “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and to see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

    I’m pretty sure BingBing will be ready for that explanation in a few months!

Leave a Reply

