BB’s books

Lately BB is really enjoying reading – more than TV, which we are loving!  I thought I’d tell you about some of her favorite books.

The Circus Ship by Chris Van Dusen.  We read this several times a day and I’m not the slightest bit tired of it.  The story is great, written in verse and wonderful to read aloud, and the illustrations fantastic.  They are very detailed; we find ourselves looking for fine details.  My brother gave it to BB and we are all lovin’ it!

It’s Okay to be Different by Todd Parr.  We’ve had this one for a while, a gift from my cousin.  BB loves it and another Todd Parr book, The Feelings Book.  I always read her the title and she says, “by Todd Parr!”  When I read any book to her, I always tell her who wrote and illustrated it.  More recently, I’m adding the publisher.  She knows the authors of several of her favorite books.  One of the things I love about this book, is you can add your own things that’s it’s “okay to be,” ad-libbing to fit the mood of the moment.  We also talk about who we know who fit the page we’re reading about.  “Who do you know who has glasses?”  “Mommy!”  “Who do you know who has wheels?” (a wheelchair) “Granddad!”

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak.  We’ve had this classic for a while and she’s just taken interest in it.

The Pet Dragon: A Story about Adventure, Friendship, and Chinese Characters by Christoph Neimenn.  My friend, Phoenix, gave BB this and she loves it.  It’s a cute story and shows many Chinese characters.  I need to add the pinyin by those characters, so I can tell her how to say the words.  Initially, I just read her the story, about a girl named Lin and her pet dragon, but now I’m telling her what the characters mean.  It would be nice to be able to say them too.  I wish the author had done that, as the book is clearly written for non-Chinese speakers as an introduction to Chinese characters.

I Love You Like Crazy Cakes by Rose Lewis, pictures by Jane Dyer.  This is a Chinese adoption classic and it has been a nice way to talk about our story.  I read it to her and say, “it was this way for this baby and mommy.  It happened this way for us.”  She took a copy to school and the teacher read it to her class, which she liked.  The teacher said everyone was really appreciating having mommies after the story.  That’s sweet, but it occurs to me that we may need to have a chat about how we talk about adoption issues with BB, as I want them to know we don’t talk about her being lucky to have us or be in America and some of the other standard adoption hogwash that floats around out there.  The principal of her school was adopted from Korea and while I love that she has that role model, I’m not too crazy about the story she tells her kids of how she entered her American family.

 

Motherbridge of Love is another Chinese adoption classic and very sweet.  I love the parallels between Chinese and American mothers.  It’s simple and non-judgmental and gives the opportunity for questions.

Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin, pictures by Betsy Lewin.  Well, I love this because it’s just plain hilarious.  I think BB likes it because it’s funny and the cute way it’s written.  My only concern is that it will encourage BB to form a union and go on strike when she doesn’t like our parenting style.  Oh well, like Hubs tells me when he says he doesn’t like unions, companies could avoid them if they treat their employees well in the first place.  Well, we do try.

Chimp and Zee’s First Words and Pictures by Catherine Anholt.  This is a cute book with lots of rhyming .  There’s no real story, but BB loves it for the rhyming and the pictures.  It’s sweet.

Clumsy Crab by Ruth Galloway is a nice story about figuring out how to make the most with what you have, even when you think it’s a liability (oh, those clumsy claws!).  The pictures are bright and the story is sweet.

2 Responses

  1. So funny because we *just* received “The Pet Dragon” last week. It’s a fun book, for sure. I see some favorites and some new to us. Thanks for the list.

  2. Grandmothers need book ideas too – thanks!

Leave a Reply

