Ozzy & Harriet are back!

I’m happy to announce the fourth annual Cavatica’s Web following of Ozzy and Harriet, the goose couple that nests at the same ridiculous spot every spring.  I was beginning to wonder if they’d be here this year, as they weren’t making an obvious presence known prior to nesting.  Usually, they clearly stake out the area for a few weeks before nesting and I haven’t seen that.  But yesterday when I left work, I saw Harriet tending to the nest and even an egg.  Then this morning, I got pictures. 

The one near me (Ozzy, I think), came toward me quick and was threatening.  I didn’t go down the stairs, just used my zoom, and was nice and quiet.  “I won’t hurt your baby, Papa” I thought.  “I just want to get a picture of that nice egg.”  I was surprised to see them both off the nest.

Can’t wait to see what’s going on tomorrow.  I understand it can take 28-35 days for goose eggs to hatch.  So, about a month to go until GOSLINGS (scroll down on this link’s post to see last year’s goslings).

2 Responses

  1. I’ve been waiting! Welcome back Ozzy and Harriet!

  2. Hi: You’ll have to read “Make Way for Ducklings” by Robert McCloskey with BB. I know these are geese–but same idea. Other fun bird books (and other books) for this age group are by P.D. Eastman. Andrew LOVES “Flap your Wings” right now…story of some birds that are taking care
    of an alligator egg that is placed in their nest.

Leave a Reply

