He thinks I look like Sarah Palin?

An interesting thing happened to me on the bus the other week.  I was sitting next to this guy and he says to me, “I bet you hear this a lot, but you look a lot like…” and he stops as if he expects me to fill in the rest.  Now, I’m clueless, as I’ve gotten the random, “you have a twin,” but it’s no one in particular.  So, I gave him my best “huh???” look and he said, “the ex-governor of Alaska!”  Holy moly, the man thinks I look like Sarah Palin!  Now, my gut reaction was, “that’s weird, Sarah Palin” and I did the knee jerk, “eek, I don’t like her; I don’t want to look like her; I don’t like her; don’t let me look like her” thing in my head. 

But I thought about it more, thinking objectively, as I think about how wacked out we’re all getting right now over political issues.  (Not that this was political or anything), but, ummm, does health care reform come to mind for anyone?  More specifically, people bashing others on Facebook and blogs just for expressing their own opinion on the matter.  An opinion, people.  I’ve chosen not to, because, well, I just don’t know the whole thing well enough to feel qualified.  Or, let’s see people lashing out against the law’s supporters.  Anyway, I thought about my knee jerk reaction to this.  Yuck, I don’t like Sarah Palin.  I don’t like her views, I don’t like her politics.  But then I looked at some pictures of her and I thought, you know, she’s not a bad-looking woman.  And what do I care if some guy thinks I look like Sarah Palin?  It’s not like he said, “you think like Sarah Palin.”  Now, then there might have been some serious gun-slinging violence to be had.  Or threats of, anyway.  Because, well, it seems that’s what we’re supposed to be doing when we disagree.  I just want to be a good American.  Sheesh.

6 Responses

  1. Well, aside from you both being female…..
    And your lacking the void between the ears…..
    You both have glasses, noses, 2 eyes, a mouth…..
    I see absolutely no likenesses at all!

  2. You’re prettier. Enough said.

  3. It kills me to listen to the news these days. I watch so I know if another 9/11 is taking place, but the rest of it just pisses me off.

  4. sheesh is RIGHT, right?? you just look so much different than i pictured you in my mind. beautiful, of course, as you are, but i pictured you with long straight hair!! weird how we do that, isn’t it?

  5. I do sort of think you look alike. I am pretty sure you are much smarter, though.

    • I don’t know about smarter, but I definitely think my thinking is more flexible. I find her to be an odd/interesting bird, actually. She’s quite a rigid thinker and our views are very different. It’s interesting to me that so many people like her so much. I realize it’s because their views are the same, but it concerns me because she can be so devisive, even hateful, in the way she expresses them.

      I do think we have similar faces.

Leave a Reply

