Meet Bert

 

Here’s my MINI!!!  Woo hoo!!!  Yup, we got a tiny car.  We do that… our family grows and we get smaller things.  A year after adopting BB we bought a smaller house.  Now a smaller car for me.  We’re strange that way.  I like it.

BB likes it – when she first experienced the sun roof opening she just went “uh… whoa!!!  I can see the moon!”  Her only complaint is that it’s not pink to match her new shoes.  I’ve explained that I usually wear something red, so it will match me, the driver, and that’s what’s really important.  She’s not fully convinced.  Lucky for her, I had been considering getting her a pair of red shoes – and no, not just to match the car.

This brings us to another issue… I will be the driver.  Yes, we bought a car that I can’t drive.  Uh huh.  It’s that odd thing again.  I had my first lesson tonight.  I think it went well.  I had fears about this.  Serious fears.  Like, could our marriage handle driving lessons?  But, I’m happy to say that… yes it can.  And, I think I’m going to like driving Bert. 

About the name.  Most of my cars have had names.  Yes, I’m one of those people.  There was Greta my VW Golf and Sally my Acura Integra.  Then there was the Nissan with no personality that simply fantasized about being the Batmobile.  It had no name.  Now Bert.  It just feels like a Bert.  We have also considered Oberon and Billy Jonas — can you guess which family members contributed each suggestion?  But Bert seems to be sticking.  And before you  start thinking Bert and Ernie, switch your mind to Mary Poppins’ Bert.  Yeah, that Bert… or something like him.  Fun, happy, agile, and not very good with his British accent, even though he’s supposed to be British.  I expect there will be a lot of Billy Jonas playing in Bert, though. 

Another wonderful thing about Bert is that it is the first car that I actually chose.  It’s a car I have wanted for a long time, my dream car.  I love to drive and it’s going to be fun to have a car that will be extra fun to drive and that I like the look of.  One that I picked.  I can’t wait until I’m ready to drive it full-time.  Zoooooooooooooooooom!

10 Responses

  1. Looks Awesome!!!

  2. I name my cars, too… but I’ve never had one as cool as a mini. Love yours! And my husband and I managed to survive driving lessons. He’s the one who taught me how to drive stick. AND I’m a moron when it comes to those kinds of things. So if I can do it, I know you can, too!

  3. Bert has a manual transmission, so Cavatica has to learn to drive stick. We had our first lesson last night, going “round’n round” a local parking lot for about an hour. Both Cavatica & Bert did well. I could tell that they were getting to know each other as the lesson progressed. I think they’ll end up great friends, they just need time to get more acquainted.

  4. Mazel tov.

    I used to drive Priscilla, Queen of the Desert when I lived in New Mexico

  5. I can just hear your Bert singing “Every day’s a holiday with Maggie” !

  6. Awwww…….. I thought that Greta was a standard but I guess not. I could have taught you all those years ago when neither of us had any cares or concerns about the health and safety of others!
    So, did Bert grow from the teeny one I got you for the holidays? Just add water?
    Once I get my feet on steady ground I’d like a new car but I’m into getting bigger ones now……. But I’m still a bit envious….. I do think I want one!

  7. i’ve wanted one for years but no way i can fit 2 car seats in it. i had a real Austin Mini, a 1973 when we lived in Scotland in the 80’s. held together by rust, but a blast to drive, like an overgrown go-cart!

Leave a Reply

