We can’t make her Chinese

This video, which I found on another blog, really sums up the difficulty that we non-Chinese, adoptive parents of Chinese kids find ourselves in when we wish to give our children their Chinese culture.  In a nutshell, we can’t.  I know this.  Still, I hope to give her pride in being of Chinese descent and the Chinese language back to her.  I want her to have the language so that she will have choices as an adult about what she does with being Chinese and her adoption history (parents, how she came to be at the SWI, etc.).  I think having the language is the greatest gift we can give her towards that.  It will be up to decide how to use it and I realize it won’t be the same as what she would have with a Chinese family, but it is the best we can do.  I believe it is the single most powerful tool we can give her.  I just hope it takes, as I know not all young adoptees are interested.  Right now she loves it.

3 Responses

  1. Ni de nu haizi xianzai zhidao duoshao Zhongwen?
    你的女孩子现在知道多少中文?

    Xue Zhongwen hen nan….
    学中文很难

    Come to think of it, I’m not sure if culture camp would be enough to give a realistic representation of what it feels like to be in a survival environment…

  2. I go back and forth on the language piece. It would be fantastic if there was a class for students with non-chinese speaking parents….I would send all my kids!! How am I going to help her with homework or assignments? Will she fell less than her “real” chinese peers? ugh….and I thought I was prepared!! LOL!

  3. We do all we can possibly do. Period. I still believe that living with us is still better than growing up in an orphanage.

Leave a Reply

