Searching for BB’s past

Here I sit in the car in our driveway while BB naps in the back.  She fell asleep on the way home from Christmas tree hunting.  We bagged a good one.  More on that later.

As I sit and listen to BB breathe, I think about her past, as I often do during quiet times.  I’ve been collecting some information and surfing the web, attempting to connect with others willing to search for this difficult information and I found this article.  It sums up so much of the issue well.  It’s not that I expect us to find her family.  In fact, I wouldn’t attempt a serious search until I was sure she was ready and I know she’s not now.  She doesn’t understand any of this yet.  But I don’t want to leave the possibility of information dying while we wait for her to get older and get interested herself.  I’m just someone who needs to know something if it can be known and I can understand it (the last is added for my dear Hubs who keeps trying to explain things like string theory to me… sad, so sad). 

Okay now… someone adorable seems to be waking up.  Later gators.

4 Responses

  1. I think that whatever you can learn now can only help her deal with the facts and the unknown in the future. Good for you for dealing with it head on. I hope to be able to do the same for my future daughter.

  2. I wouldn’t wait. Info has a way of going away over time. Get the info, then choose what you do with it. Just my opinion.

  3. We are trying to find as much info as possible for our girls, also. Are you in the China Birth Parent Search group? There is helpful information there! Some families of teens have been found years later.

  4. I agree, I am also one of those need to know people.

    We have found a possible sibling of Lia’s. We had a DNA test done and we should have the results by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

