Park days

I took the dare devil to the park this evening.  She scares me on this thing, but I think I need to get over it.  Frequently, she shows me a new skill, against my will – “Mommy, I’ll DO IT!”… and on she goes. 

K-2009-5 071

At first I’m terrified, as two weeks ago this was a disaster.  Then suddenly, she does it!  So, rather than show my fear, I take out my camera and record it all for posterity and tell her “nice job!”, complete with a high five, when she finishes. 

K-2009-5 073

I never realized so much of motherhood was learning how not to show your fear and let them grow.  ‘Cause guess what?  They’re gonna anyway!  Might as well try to enjoy the ride.

K-2009-5 067

In addition to climbing, we flew a kite.  Here she is looking for it.  She’s a good kite flyer.   Earlier she was flying.  Here she’s chasing.

K-2009-5 065

Another day at the park.  My girl loves her fire hat!

K-2009-5 060

There are two baby alpacas with an adult at the local farm.  The baby on the left is Iris and the dark black on in the middle is Snapdragon.  Sweet!

K-2009-5 059

“Here, Mommy, here!”

K-2009-5 053

She’s an old pro at this ladder.

K-2009-5 049

Loves to collect mulch.

K-2009-5 048

We’re loving our days at the park!

6 Responses

  1. It is nice that the weather if finally cooperating. As always, she looks like she is having a blast.

  2. I think my heart would be in my throat too watching a 2 year old going up a ladder! I cannot believe we were just celebrating her first steps such a short time ago! She is growing up SO fast!

  3. What a great park for the Bing to enjoy and love that you all get to see alpacas.
    Swallowing that fear is hard. A and L are adults and I still have to do it!

  4. Very wise words, about letting go of the fear. I think that philosophy of ‘enjoying the ride because it’s going to happen anyway’ could pretty much apply to everything. You may have just given me a new motto to live by!

  5. I so understand where you are coming from. I’m sure I hold my girl back out of my own fear. I try to just breathe, but it is hard. The camera is a great idea. Bing looks like she is doing so well.

  6. She reminds me so much of Lola! I know exactly what you mean!

Leave a Reply

