Goose attack!

richland-2009-3-25-001

This is Harriett.  I tried to take a picture of Ozzy a few minutes before.  He was off in the distance and when he saw me, he flew at me, wings flapping wildly!  I stood my ground (I had nowhere to go!) and he landed about 6 feet from me.  He then proceeded to swear and spit.  Geese are not polite.  I shook my keys at him.  He spit back.  Later, staff either parked elsewhere or were further intimidated.  We have a few weeks to go until the goslings are born.  Many staff are terrified.  I have been pointed out that others would do the same if they feared for their young.  I get funny looks.  I’m just trying to look at things from the perspective of the goose.  Hence the funny looks.  That’s not to say, I won’t spit and swear if I’m spitted and sworn at.  But at least I know where they’re coming from.  Good papa.

2 Responses

  1. Very good papa. I think it is funny that you have this same scene play out every year. Do you compare child rearing advice with them?

  2. I’m sure they are well aware that eggs are collected at this time of year and painted odd colors! I wonder what Ozzy will do if he sees a big rabbit come looking around?

Leave a Reply

