Too long no blog

I love blogging, but lately I find myself scattered around the net.  It’s Facebook.  I joined – no regrets, really.  It’s giving me what I wanted, which is a connection with old friends.  I’m finding people from my past, some lost, some forgotten.  That is a wonderful thing.  However, it’s given me something else that I don’t like.  It’s another thing… and it’s addictive, but I don’t like it the way I like blogging.  It’s little snippets of contact, but it’s not substantial.  Blogging is more.  I keep telling myself to stay away, but then I have a new friend – I found someone or someone found me and I’m excited.  Or it’s the only way I keep in touch with someone important and I’m drawn back.  But, no it’s not substantial.  It doesn’t satisfy me, those snippets.  Maybe my resolution should be, keep in contact with those people I only am in touch with through Facebook and leave quickly coming here for the rest.  This is where I think.  Anyway, here I am now, Facebook-free.  Okay, it’s open in another window.  Sheesh.  And Phoenix, I don’t want to hear a word about Sarah Palin.

7 Responses

  1. I so know what you mean. FB is taking a lot of my friends over! I like it, but I am not into it. It takes effort to go there and check in–still figuring it out too–but I find if I want to “see” people that is where they are.

  2. I don’t do Facebook. I don’t need another internet identity toi have to keep up with.

    And we certainly could never do without new pictures of your cutie pie.

  3. I am glad it is working for you. It is fun.

  4. I was getting a bit nervous. I check this blog daily and nothing was forthcoming! I was afraid I had lost you to FaceBook But I won’t go there…. nope, no way!

  5. I hear ya…..
    Another FB addict here. Sometimes I feel pathetic, since it’s where all my connections are since I’ve quit work!
    I think that will change soon, though….

  6. I am on both, and I use them for different reasons. I find, for me, Facebook is more of a communication board, while blogging is more of a creative outlet in writing and photography. They have different uses in my world, so they both have a place. I couldn’t pontificate the meaning of motherhood on FB, nor could I receive a virtual cocktail from a long lost college friend on WordPress!

    I also find that Facebook is, for the most part, mostly my personal friends and acquaintances. Blogging… well, most of the folks who read my blog have never met me (you excluded, of course). That gives the writing a sense of freedom, and a chance to connect with ‘internets’ who are somewhat interested in perusing my blog periodically. On FB, status updates are akin to giving my inner circle (of 62 people- ha!) a blow by blow account of my day. Being home alone with E, it is sometimes the only somewhat direct communication that i have with an adult all day.

    Oooo, i just read that last line…. I need to get out more!

  7. I hate how addictive I have become. At first, I thought fb was the dumbest thing and now, it’s like black-tar heroine.

    None of this electronic communication has made my phone phobia go away.

Leave a Reply

