So we’re buying a house!

Yup.  It’s in the same town we live in now, but on the other side of the railroad tracks.  It’s closer to the center of town than where we are now and on a very wooded lot, which is unusual for in town.  It has a neat backyard for exploring with a neat stone path and a horseshoe pit.  It has a nice lawn out front and some lawn out back for a swing set.  It’s a small Cape Cod with room to grow.  It’s move-in ready with hardwood floors, knotty pine in the kitchen, and nice rooms all around.  It only has 2 bedrooms (now) and 1 bath (I fear this, but we’ll make another someday).  It has a nice deck. 

The basement isn’t finished, but it’s painted and nice.  There is space for a TV &/or play area, which is good for tricycling, rollerskating, hopscotch… all good kid stuff.  The laundry is in the basement, with a laundry chute from upstairs.  I love the laundry chute, but fear for our kitties if Bing-Bing gets some crazy ideas someday (I did, but I’m in my 40s and can resist).  There is space to create an extra kitchen for canning and pickling.  The attic isn’t finished and has no heat, but the current owners put A/C in when they put in central air last year.  There is room there for 2 rooms and a 2nd bathroom.  That will come later.

Oh, it has a funky little apartment — we’ll be landlords.  The tenant comes with the house.  She seems sweet, as long as she isn’t deaf, as we hear all she does is watch TV and listen to the radio.  Family brings groceries and checks in.

It’s walking distance to town, including two nice parks, many shops, restaurants, and schools (elementary, middle, and high).  Yup, this feels good.

We settle the week before Thanksgiving and hope to move Thanksgiving weekend.  Think we’re going to be a little busy for awhile?

12 Responses

  1. This is great news. The place sounds great. Hope you will post pictures at a later date. Congratulations!

  2. Awesome! Congrats!
    It sounds just perfect for your family – can’t wait to see the pics.

  3. Hmmmmm….. good things seem to come to you right around Thanksgiving every year!
    Does this mean that you’ll want all my outdoor gardening stuff I was planning on leaving here when I move to Philly?
    Remember when you plant your Japanese maple to plant a juniper nearby……. they keep each other company and they were the first things I planted when I moved in here.

  4. Moving to the other side of the tracks. That is movin’ on up, if I’ve ever heard of it.

    Mazel tov!

  5. Moving to the other side of the tracks. That is movin’ on up, if I’ve ever heard of it.

    Mazel tov!

  6. Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you guys! This house sounds just perfect for your family, right up to the canning room. I hope you’re going to keep the horseshoe pits- I loves me a good game of horseshoes! Can’t wait to hear/ see more~

  7. Congrats! Sounds like another new adventure and one you will enjoy making your own. Exciting!

  8. WOW, what terrific news! I can’t wait to see you next week.

  9. Congratulations!!! You live in such a sweet town — I’m sure it’s a wonderful place, I’m very happy for you. We’re still in the house hunt mode! Looking is fun : )

  10. Pictures, please! Hey, B & I will be in your area for a week next summer. We’ll have to get together!

  11. What great news! It sounds so homey and perfect! Good luck with all the packing.

Leave a Reply

