Welcome to my web!

“What’s up with this?” I hear you politely questioning.  Well, Faithful Reader, I was tired of my old look and even more tired of the address of my old blog.  I wanted something that suited me better, in appearance and address.

So, what’s it all about, this Cavatica’s Web?  The name, Cavatica, which I’ve been using, is from Charlotte’s Web.  Charlotte, the spider in the book, is named Charlotte A. Cavatica.  I’ve always loved that book and admired Charlotte.  She was a wonderful friend and a good writer.  What she wrote was meaningful and made a lasting impact on others, especially her friend, Wilbur, whose life she saves with her writing.  The quote “I live by my wits” is from Charlotte.  She said this in the beginning of her relationship with Wilbur, about how she has to hunt for her food, as he’s quite appalled by her diet of bug blood.  Finally, she says simply, “Well, YOU can’t talk. You have YOUR meals brought to you in a pail. Nobody feeds me. I live by my wits.” 

Oh, and the Chinese characters?  That’s my name ~ Jiang Mei Jie.  Jiang is our family’s Chinese surname, given by Bing-Bing, thank you very much.  It means river.  Mei Jie is my personal name given by our first Chinese teacher. It means Beautiful Eyelashes.  I am a woman of many names.  In this family, that’s just how it is.  I feel it is a tremendous honor and am sorry for those of few names.   Even our cats are blessed with many names.

So, here I am, Cavatica.  Welcome to my web.  Get stuck awhile.

7 Responses

  1. Love the new look!
    Also a huge Charlotte’s Web fan, here! It will always be my favorite!
    Peace & love to your family!

  2. Love the new blog. I have always wondered where “Cavetica” came from, and now I know. Pretty cool!

  3. I love a new blog! Thanks for the invitation! And oh, yes, I’ve always loved Charlotte’s Web. Though as an adult I can’t get through it without crying my eyes out!

  4. So much better. I like it.

  5. Very nice. It always feels great to have a fresh new place to hang out.

  6. Change can be good – like this new site. I’m stuck!
    Good job!

  7. I like it! It feels right!

Leave a Reply

