Happy anniversary, Q!!!

I met Q eight years ago today!  This picture was taken last year on our anniversary.  I still remember the day we met.  I was excited and nervous.  I wanted a child in my life, so I contacted Big Brothers / Big Sisters.  They matched me with Q, who was 9 at the time.  I went to her house nervous about what to do and say, but she had that all figured out.  She gave me a tour of her room and neighborhood.  The next day we went out to eat and as always we just talked and talked.  Eight years later and that’s what we still do – through good times and bad – we talk.  There’s so much to talk about.  She’s smart, she’s funny, and she’s taught me a lot – most importantly that I can love a child and I can be part of helping her grow to be a beautiful, smart woman.  You rock, Q!  You’re my sister.

2 Responses

  1. Maggie, get with it and have your own hand symbol.

    Happy anniversary

  2. Happy Anniversary! How awesome for you both! Lifelong friendships come in unexpected places.

Leave a Reply

