Love & Logic parenting

I just finished my second Love and Logic Parenting book, Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood.  The other one I read is Parenting with Love and Logic, which I would call the overall guidebook.  I got the early years book to answer my questions about how to apply it with Snowflake, who is now 15-months-old (yesterday!).  I like the approach because it covers all years and although it’s best to start young, it can be started any time.  It works with anyone who can understand cause and effect if it’s applied consistently.  At the end of the early childhood book a man even talks about using some of the nonverbal techniques with horses.  Here’s the thing… it just makes sense.  It’s all about having lots fun and using empathy before natural consequences for misbehavior.  They say it can make parenting quite stress free and fun. 

I’ve used the techniques when I’ve set limits with others and have found it very stress free and the other person has accepted the consequences gracefully.  I was amazed to feel and see that.  I was even more excited yesterday when I stumbled upon a review of the Parenting Teens with Love and Logic here at Adoptive Families.  I had a sense it was a good way to go with an adopted child, but it was nice to see that backed up by an adoption resource.  Like anything, I’m sure it doesn’t work with every child.  Parents need to be consistent and children need to be able to understand cause and effect.  I think it’s good stuff and very adaptable.

4 Responses

  1. Email me. Which of the two books do I start with? I have been trying to find a good book on parenting at this age.

  2. I am always looking for books like this, I will check it out.

  3. This one is on my list…

  4. Just wanted to let you know that there are classes available to take. I have taken 2 classes and was able to check out many materials from my teacher. I loved the class because I got a workbook I could refer to and talks on dvd. Check out the classes close to you at their website loveandlogic.com

    The best investment I have made.

Leave a Reply

