Six month post placement visit

A social worker stopped by this evening for our 6-month post placement interview.  Six months!  Wow… we’ve been a family for six months.  It feels like longer, yet not long at all.  What I mean is, it feels like she’s been part of our lives forever.  Yet, she’s barely more than 14-months-old.  Hubs and I have said the same thing about our relationship.  Strange thing, love.  Creates a time warp, I guess.

It went well.  She sat in on our dinner.  We’re busy people and that’s just how it is, but what a better way to see a family in their natural habitat than at dinner?  Snowflake was a little melty just before dinner, so I wasn’t sure what to expect.  She surprised me by turning down her ribs, but eating lots of peas – just after we informed the SW that she’s a true carnivore and we need to get her veggies into her first because once we give her meat the veggies are done.  “Ha!  See, lady, I eat lots of veggies.  My mom doesn’t know what she’s talking about.  Don’t believe a word she says!”  Then Hubs and I ate a little and answered questions, while Snowflake toddled about and was just charming.  Anyway, I think we’ll get a good report. 

Six months!  Wow.

4 Responses

  1. No way you’ve been home 6 months!! It seems like just the other day that you came back.

  2. Six months already? Wow!

  3. Sounds like it went well. I know what you mean about them feeling like they have been with us forever. I can imagine him being with us from birth even though that was not the case.

  4. funny how the social worker visit changes from the first home study, isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

