China connections

I’ve been maintaining a connection with one of our China agency reps and through her, Snowflake’s orphanage.  I started this because I was looking for information from our rep about the people at the orphanage for Snowflake’s lifebook.  I hadn’t realized it then, but she can email our updates and pictures to the orphanage.  Wow!  Recently, I wrote asking for the name of a nanny holding Snowflake in a picture we have of her, plus I sent a copy of the picture of Snowflake in the bathtub that I’ve wondered about so much.  It took a little time for her to get back to me, due to Lunar New Year, but I heard from her today.Here’s a bit of the email:

The swimming baby is Snowflake, you are right.  The nanny who holds Snowflake is L~ D~ H~ ( 罗德会).  I forwarded Snowflake’s pictures back to the orphanage and the staff are very happy to see she is doing so well in her family. You are great. They want me to pass their thanks and great respect to you.
   Best. Love.
   M~

 

I love this photo and have wanted to use it in her lifebook, but only if I was sure it’s her.  Now I am.  I plan to finish Snowflake’s lifebook with her first birthday, which is in two weeks.  I’m so grateful to M~ and what she did for us in China.  I will always think of her as our midwife, the woman who delivered our babies.  She was so kind and wonderful, although we knew her for less than a week.  But now I realize she’s going to be more.  She’s an ongoing connection between us and Snowflake’s first 8 1/2 months and the people who helped keep our daughter’s spirit strong.  I believe her strength and adaptability are innate, but the orphanage fostered that for 8 1/2 months.  M~ will allow us to show them her continued growth and strength.  I hope we will continue to earn their respect.  They have ours.

5 Responses

  1. what a connection to treasure!

  2. Wow! This is wonderful for you and Snowflake.

  3. I knew it was her!

  4. That is so great. We keep in contact with M’s foster family and the connection is awesome. We kept in contact with our guide in Nanning, but I don’t know what happened, I think she stopped working for CTS–we cannot contact her now. She was independently contracted and not part of our agency. We so wanted to see her again when we went to Nanning.

  5. That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

