Catching up…

I haven’t really been in the blogging mood.  Weird, I know.  Snowflake was sick all last week, so there weren’t any cute pics to share.  I found myself wanting to read blogs more than write mine.  I know (IRL or as Internets) many who are in China or just returning right now, so I’m enjoying following their stories.  Actually, I’m a little jealous.  I’d LOVE to do the whole thing all over again.  Well, maybe not the flight home.  Some are even repeating our trip just about exactly and it’s wonderful for me to see those familiar places and faces! 

I’m also finding myself wanting to focus on another Snowflake project – her lifebook.  For those of you not in the know, an adoption lifebook is more than a scrapbook or photo album.  It’s the story of the child’s life, specifically covering the time before s/he joined your family.  I’m collecting as much information about Snowflake’s life from before we met her – when and where she was born, the circumstances surrounding her abandonment and finding spot, as much as we know about her orphanage life, a little background on us as we prepared for and thought about her before we met, and then our meeting in China.  It will conclude soon after coming home.  I might end it after her first birthday – exactly one month away, my friends!  She’s 11-months-old today!!!  Woo hoo!  So, it chronicles her early life, giving as much history as we can.  I’ve written to our adoption representative in Chongqing to get some additional information about the people from the orphanage, including their names in Chinese characters.  She’s sent current pictures of Snowflake to them.  I’m happy we can maintain that connection through her.  Anyway, it’s been awesome to write.  I’m planning to laminate it because I figure her first interest in it will be through her mouth.  A little later she might like to look at the pictures.  Eventually, she might want to have it read to her.  I may re-write it over the years, changing it for her age either just in format or even in text. 

Oh, and the previous password protected post?  If you have the password used for past PWP-posts, it’s the same.  If not, just let me know and I’ll give it to you.  It’s just not open for the full Internet.  She’s stinkin’ cute and all, but some things just might embarrass her when her boyfriend googles Snowflake in 34 years.  Yeah, I said 34 years.  That’s when Hubs says she’s allowed to date.  Heh.

One Response

  1. The workings of Zubins lifebook are in a drawer in the to-do box. The quilt is in the same stacking container. Good luck getting it done. You have free time?

Leave a Reply

