Happy New Year

It’s been BUSY so far.  New Years Eve was quiet and uneventful – how we like it.  New Years Day we had family and friends over for pork and sauerkraut.  Last year I learned, from Hubs’ grandmother, why we eat pork, not chicken, on New Years Day.  Here’s the scoop.  Chickens scratch.  That’s a backwards action and you don’t want to move backwards through the year.  Pigs root, which is a forward action and you want to go forward into the new year!  So, pork it was!  Our little, golden piggy, Snowflake, enjoyed some mashed potatoes and sauerkraut.  I’ve been sending it with her to The Academy all week.  Sauerkraut.  Heh.  I can’t believe my girl likes sauerkraut.  Cuz, what do ya think of that?  Oh, and she had a few bites of Hubs’ pickles!  I think they’re like candy to her.  Woo hoo!

What else?  I’m back to work and Snowflake is in day care at The Academy.  It’s going well until the last hour or so when her regular teachers leave.  She doesn’t know the end of day girl yet.  She’s a college student.  What has made me happy, however, is that the principal has stepped in and taken her, since they’ve actually met.  So, she’s adjusting to this time and soon enough she’ll get to know the afternoon girl and I’m sure they’ll be good buds.  Work is good – I feel like I never left, but it’s hard to leave my girl for so long each day.

5 Responses

  1. It actually sounds like a nice smooth transition! Good for you guys!

  2. As the reigning Sauerkraut Queen I welcome Princess Snowflake to our realm!

  3. Happy New Year! Things sound good!! I know what you mean about work — I am not back yet, still 4 weeks to go, but I am dreading it. Not the work part, but leaving Alex.

  4. I only began eating the kraut in my mid-30s! Snowflake certainly has interesting taste in foods : )) that’s so great!

    was wondering about the Academy & return to work. glad your transitions are going well.

    Happy New Year!

  5. Sauerkraut is my most hated food…yuck!

    I know it must be hard for you leaving Snowflake when you go to work. I feel the same way every day. Luckily my Mom watches Jensen.

Leave a Reply

