Weird mothering thing…

… that I’m sure is obvious to other mothers, but my first experience…

First, I’m having trouble sleeping because of the sound of her cough.

Then, I can’t sleep because she stopped coughing and I’m thinking, “oh my gosh, she stopped coughing.  What’s wrong with her!”

Jeez Louise.

We called in a set of grandparents for reinforcement today so we could get some sleep.  Snowflake was up most of the night coughing, wheezing, and fussing.  I spent the first part of the night with her, Hubs the next half.  She’s resting better now and maybe will sleep through the night, but she’s slept a fair amount today so who knows?  Besides, she may still think it’s 7:00 AM tomorrow morning.

4 Responses

  1. It’s okay……… only about 18 years now until she goes away to college and you can get a good night’s sleep….. maybe.
    I’m going to start referring people to your blog now when they ask why I never had any kids and never adopted either. I think the next few months will prove my points better than I ever would have been able to say them myself and heaven knows that you’re far more patient than I can ever hope to be!

  2. Anxiety… the gateway to real mothering! In other words, it’s all good. I hope that Snowflake is feeling better.

  3. Oh ya . the ‘ why aren’t they sleeping’ I wish they would sleep. Would segway into “why are they so quiet?!’

  4. I am totally the same way. We haven’t had any coughing or wheezing around here, but for me it’s heavy breathing or moaning or crying out. I’m glad Snowflake is feeling better.

Leave a Reply

