Home

We made it.  We’re exhausted and out of sorts.  The house is a disaster.  Snowflake has a cold and an ear infection and probably thinks she’s on another planet – “how did my world get so BIG???”  We had her to the pediatrician this morning because she coughed all night.  Poor kid.  Poor us.  Night is day.  Day is night.  I think Hubs and I could adjust to the time change okay, but it’s hard for the little one to do it and therefore hard for us, as we have to follow her.

The trip home was tough.  There was projectile vomiting on Mommy.  There was screaming over Daddy.  The United Air staff was awesome – quick with vomit clean up bag and baby food (which may have caused vomit, but nevertheless).  Snowflake did great on all short in-China flights, but the looooooooong flight home was tough.  There was nothing to look at and this kid need to watch things and people. 

Back home, she likes the cats and they’re interested in her – “who’s the noisy alien?”  Today she doesn’t feel like playing and we aren’t getting many smiles, but we’re making it through.  We did turn off the phone ringers, as it keeps ringing when we’re all exhausted, which is pretty much always – not the phone, us.  We have instituted a “we’ll call back later” policy.  Priority is getting ourselves back to normal.  Weird that what we had in China is normal, but we loved it there.  Everything was awesome, except for living in a hotel room.  It is nice to have our kitchen and bathroom separate and have more space.

Well, that’s all for now.  I just wanted to let you know we are alive and moving.

Special thanks to Mrs. Pushy for blogging for me while I was unable and to Phoenix for emailing me comments.  It was great to be able to keep in touch and I know my family really appreciated it!

12 Responses

  1. You’re very welcome on the blog posting. I have to say, it’s very weird to read one of your blog posts without seeing it in my email box first! Glad to see that you all made it home safely, albeit a little worse for the wear. Keep your phone off and your doors locked and you’ll be back to normal soon. Whatever your new state of normal is.

  2. Welcome home Snowflake and family!

  3. Welcome home!

  4. I’m glad to hear that everyone made it home in one piece!! Sorry to hear that the flight was rough!!!

  5. Awesome. Glad you’re home safe and sound. The first few days really, REALLY suck. I’m not going to sugarcoat it for you. But it will get better. You will find a routine. You will be happier than you’ve ever been in your whole life! Night Night!

  6. Wow HOME!!!!!!! Welcome to this big wonderful world Snowflake!
    I was thrilled I could contribute something!
    And now I have something that needs to get popped into the mail! Oh Snowflake……. I’m so looking forward to my newest little niece! Here’s your first cyber hug! (((((((((((((((Snowflake!))))))))))))))))))

  7. been thinking about you! sorry the ‘re-entry’ was rough . take good care of yourselves. : )

  8. welcome back!!!!!

  9. Welcome home! Hope to see you in a few weeks!
    April

  10. Welcome home! To me it seems like you just left a few days ago, so it sounds weird to hear you’re home already. I’m sure it doesn’t feel that way for you though, and I hope things go more smoothly very soon. With lots of night-time sleep for all. And no more barf.

  11. Welcome home to all!! It’s been an adventure. Can’t wait to meet snowflake when you get adjusted.

  12. So glad you’re home. Hope you got my e -mail. I won’t expect any replys until you 3 are feeling normal.

    Flying with kids is always interesting – sometimes they’re terrific, sometimes they’re sick, and sometimes the evil twin shows up. We love them anyway!

    I hope her cold gets better soon so there can be lots of laughter and playing.

Leave a Reply

