Memedome

And now, because I cannot resist a meme (I try, but the urge, oh the urge – it’s like McDonald’s iced coffee, my crack), I bring you, brought to you by none other than Emma-Bug… Eight Random Things in You Kitchen, edited to Five Random Things in Your Kitchen Plus my favorite breakfast made in said kitchen.  Phew, I’m exhausted from that run-on sentence!  The thing is, I couldn’t actually remember the meme and only took five pictures, but that included my breakfast, which I love and I think that gives me bonus points.  And, since this is my blog, I can do whatever I want.  I know what you’re saying, “Darn it, Cavatica, get on with the dumb thing!”

Reba by the food.  This is a happy place.  BTW, her shoulder is doing very well.  We have a kittenish kid back.  She has take to running all over the house, chasing things and being downright goofy.  It’s a wonderful thing.  And her coat has gotten very, very pretty.

 

Our pantry, well, closet really.  Jealous, aren’t you?  It’s okay, I know you are.  I would be. 

 Our refrigerator.  We love this and look forward to adding art from Snowflake.

 Next, the Hubs’ canned pears.  Yum.

This is the door to our basement.  I’m showing you this because there has been a very exciting accomplishment here recently.  We put a cat door in the door because we want the door kept closed after Snowflake is home.  However, Reba was unable to figure out the door.  Not just the cat door — any door.  She’s so funny… if a door is open a crack, she’ll just stand there, wanting to go through, but not knowing what to do.  Funniest thing.  I never met a cat who couldn’t figure out how to stick it’s paw in there and pull or push the door!  So, we’ve been keeping the door open enough so that she could fit her whole body through.  However, just recently, we said, “enough is enough!”  Snowflake is coming soon, Reba’s adjusting, her shoulder is strong, it’s time to learn the art of doors.  And, she’s doing it people!  She doesn’t like it, but she’s doing it.

 Finally, and for extra credit, I bring you Puffter Rice and Eggs, my favorite breakfast.  I think this came from my Granny.  Here’s what you do.

Toast your puffed rice cereal with a little butter (lately, I use spray butter) and salt in a toaster oven at 250 degrees for about 15-ish minutes.  It should get nice and toasty crisp, but not burned.  After starting the puffter rice, I start soft boiling the eggs.  I start the eggs in cold water, bring them to a boil, take off the burner and let sit for 3 minutes.  Then put the eggs on top of the puffter rice.  Salt to taste.  Yummy!  Why puffter rice and not puffed rice?  When I was little, I couldn’t say puffed rice; it came out puffter rice and the name has stuck.  I think it sounds better, myself.

Oh, for those of you concerned about my productivity, doing a meme while waiting for Snowflake with a MILLION things to do, I am in fact multitasking.  At this moment, I am printing photos of Snowflake to take to our family baby shower to astound others with her cuteness.  Also, while making the Puffter Rice and Eggs, I vacuumed the living room so that when I get home I can spread new stuff all over the floor and begin to organize.  Okay, I project, it is really ME who is concerned with my productivity. 

4 Responses

  1. The canned pears look like brains.

  2. OMG, I was thinking that the pears look kind of science lab-ish too.

    No offense, but that puffer egg concoction looks, well, not very appetizing. I guess it’s one of those comfort dishes that looks odd, but tastes yummy. When I was a kid, my mom would make us soft boiled eggs, cut them up and stir in butter bread pieces – I guess it’s the same idea.

  3. Puffter Rice and Eggs is definitely a comfort item for me. I make it for supper sometimes.

  4. I am glad your kitty is doing well. what a cutie.

Leave a Reply

