Aleca update

The news isn’t good.  She’s home and content.  Aleca’s diagnosis?  Hepatic disease due to tumors or pancreatic disorders.  She’s anemic, unkempt (she isn’t grooming at all anymore), and her abdomen is “doughy.”  She’s starting mirtazapine, also known as Remeron the antidepressant.  For cats and dogs it’s used for vomiting and anorexia conditions.  Hopefully this will help her eat.  Clearly she wants to eat, given the begging for pumpkin, but then something stops her.  Nausea?  Hurting tummy?  The mirtazapine may help.  It’s not a cure; it’s giving her a little more time.  The next time she sees the vet it will be her last.  I got the information on a mobile vet, so her last moments can be at home.  She’s terrified of going out and I don’t want her to be afraid.  We have no idea when that will be, but I don’t think she’ll be meeting The Kidlet.

10 Responses

  1. I am so sorry. I lost my beloved Chip (my nine plus year old lab) right before we left for China (less than a month). It was so hard as I was grieving him and dealing with Madeline’s issues at the same time. I must say though that having her kept me from totally becoming a basket case–too many other things to deal with.

    Sorry.

  2. I am so so sorry to hear that. I hope the meds help and make her feel a bit better.

    Hugs.

  3. I remember these days with Flakey too. They were so difficult and having to take him out his last time was horrible, pelting hail and cloud to ground lightening. Just as Flakey and I drove by a house lightening hit it and I was sure this was a sign but I didn’t know what it was supposed to mean.
    Losing Bbailey a short few months later was added insult to injury. The best was having a day where Bbailey and I just held each other and dozed.
    Animals give us the opportunity to learn unconditional love and then move on to help another. Give lots of hugs knowing that Aleca always only had eyes for you.

  4. Oh, I’m so sorry. That is bad news!

  5. I’m so very sorry. Sending a hug…

  6. I’m so sorry, Cavatica…the mobile vet sounds like a very good idea. Safe-feeling, comforting.

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about Aleca. She’s such a sweet cat. I hope that she can enjoy her remaining time in as much comfort as possible. Hang in there~

  8. I’m so sorry about Aleca. Gosh, I hope the meds help her pain (if indeed she has any), and am so glad you found the mobile vet. I will be thinking about all of you…dang, with this stupid wait, there have been more bloggy friends losing pets…it’s life, but it’s just not fair.

  9. oh no…. I am so sorry.
    It is so hard.
    Mobile vets are wonderful… it’s the nicest way to do it.
    sending you a big hug.. I know it hurts
    too well

  10. No! Oh, you. I am so very sorry to hear this – Aleca just got home!

    Hugs, Cavatica. Big ones. XOXO

Leave a Reply

