Memed

I was tagged by am&g, so here I go!

FIVE THINGS I WAS DOING TEN YEARS AGO

  1. Passively contemplating “what’s next?”
  2. Getting sane.
  3. Figuring out the rules.
  4. Working at a drop-in center for people with mental illness and loving it!
  5. Drinking iced cappucino before Starbucks.

FAVORITE SNACK FOOD

  1. Dried fruit and nuts (don’t even call me a fruitcake! – although I like that too, even those crazy fruitcake bricks for sale at the holidays).
  2. Potato chips ~ I don’t buy them.  I only allow myself to have them when they are available elsewhere – otherwise I’d only eat potato chips!
  3. This wonderful licorice that we have right now.  I grab a piece or two everytime I’m in the kitchen.  Can’t have that around all the time either.
  4. Rita’s Italian Ice treats.
  5. Iced lattes with nutmeg, cinnamon, and a tiny dash of vanilla.

FIVE SONGS I KNOW ALL THE LYRICS TO

  1. All of Pink Floyd’s The Wall.
  2. Most of the soundtrack to Mama Mia! (that was a fun show).
  3. The Different by Melissa Etheridge.  That’s my favorite car song.  I completely rock out and will sing it over and over.  I wore it out on a tape.  Luckily I have it on CD now.
  4. Isn’t She Lovely? by Stevie Wonder.  This song gave me fleeting, maternal feelings before I wanted a baby.  Can’t wait to sing and dance with The Kidlet to it!
  5. I aspire to know all the words to Little Bunny FooFoo, as that’s a frequent earworm of mine.  Can you help me out, am&g???

FIVE THINGS I WOULD DO IF I WERE A MILLIONAIRE

  1. Spend a quarter-plus of it on a house.
  2. Pay someone to clean the house for the rest of my life.
  3. Invest in my kid ~ education of many sorts.
  4. Travel.
  5. Donate, but not when the potential donors call and ask for money during my dinnertime. 

FIVE BAD HABITS

  1. Projective identification.
  2. Compulsive fingernail picking. 
  3. Poor initiation when left to my own devices.  At work, we call this “stickiness.”
  4. Inability to clean house.
  5. Impulsiveness with words (opposite of “stickiness”).  This is why I don’t swear much.  I can’t censor when I need to.  Better just to keep it clean.

FIVE THINGS I LIKE TO DO

  1. Watch movies.
  2. Read (I must have a book going at all times and the next one lined up as I’m finishing the current one.  If I don’t, I get nervous.)
  3. Blog.
  4. Hang out with The Husband at bookstores.  Don’t know why, we don’t look at the same books, but it’s fun anyway.  It’s very relaxing.
  5. Talk about interesting things/people/ideas.

FIVE THINGS I WILL NEVER WEAR AGAIN

  1. Contact lenses.  It just isn’t working for me anymore.  I’m past the grieving.
  2. A wedding dress, like you am&g, my husband’s a keeper.
  3. Acid wash jeans with snaps at the ankles.  I loved them at the time, but they just seem goofy now.
  4. Pampers.
  5. Any rings, but my engagement and wedding rings on my left ring finger.  See #2.

FIVE PEOPLE I TAG FOR THIS MEME:

  1. If you haven’t done this meme and you want to, guess what?  You’re it!
8 Responses

  1. Nice meme. I can just picture you dancing with your daughter to the Stevie Wonder song!

    And never say never about the Pampers….

  2. I plan to graduate to Depends or whatever the cool brand of the day is.

  3. Oh how I love Italian Ices. Totally takes me back to kidhood. The wee cups with the wooden spoons…..

    (clearing throat)
    Little Bunny FooFoo Hoppin’ Thru the forest
    Scooping up the field mice
    *and*
    BOPPIN’ them on tha’ head.

    Then the Good fairy comes down & tells bunny to stop doing that…or she’ll turn him into a GOON…but I forget how the words go to that part of the song.

    Now, do you remember John Jacob Jingleheimerschmidt? That is an all time fave…

  4. Mmmm. Ritas……

    Ok, WendyZ, I’ll pick up where you left off….

    After the boppin ’em on their heads part…

    Then along came the GOOD fairy, and she said,
    Little Bunny Foo Foo I don’t wanna see you
    Scooping up the field mice and boppin ’em on the head.
    I’ll give you three chances, and if you disobey me I’ll turn you into a goon

    Then the next day…. (here you repeat the whole thing, and each time the chances goes to two more chances, then one more chance.)

    Then on the last one she says I Gave you three chances, and you disobeyed me so I’ll turn you into a goon!

    POOF!

    And the morale of the story is, hare today, goon tomorrow.

  5. with ya on the book thing… I must have at least 5 waiting for me.

  6. Good meme. It really gave a great snapshot of who you are. I’m totally with you the reading thing. I always have a couple books lined up to read. Occasionally, I won’t be reading anything or have anything to read, and I feel out of sorts.

  7. Would you believe, I too have been wanting to remember the words to Little Bunny Foo Foo?

    I was an avid reader until college. I read constantly, and now? Not so much. I’m very hit or miss..will read several books in a row, and then nothing for months.

  8. In Australia wedding cakes are typically fruit cake. You would be in fruit cake heaven there.

Leave a Reply

