Expecto Patronum!

Q and I went to see Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix tonight.  We were not disappointed.  It’s been awhile since I read the book, the 5th in the series, and I’d forgotten quite a bit.  I know quite a bit of the book isn’t in the movie, as it would just be too long.  It was not my favorite book, but I did enjoy the movie. 

Recently, the two earlier movies have been on TV a lot and I’ve been thinking a lot about the Patronus Charm, which is first described in the 3rd book when Harry is faced with Dementors and it comes up again in #5.  Dementors are the guards of Azkaban, the prison.  They are soul-suckers that sense and feed upon all positive emotion causing people to relive their worst memories.  When they are present people feel as though they will never feel good again and the world around them becomes cold.  The defense against a Dementor is the Patronus Charm, in which one conjures an incantation of one’s innermost positive feelings, such as joy, hope, or the desire to survive, known as a Patronus. One must draw upon one’s happiest memory in order to effectively cast a Patronus Charm.  They are very difficult, requiring great strength.  When one effectively casts the charm an ethereal, but solid animal appears that represents that wizard that casts it.  This animal shields or drives away the Dementor because the Patronus cannot feel despair as a human can, so the Dementor has nothing to feed upon.  Harry’s Patronus is a stag.  Dumbledore’s is a phoenix. 

I love the concept of the Dementors and the Patronus Charm as the only effective weapon against them.  It’s true that happy memories and thoughts can fight depression, anxiety, and even physical pain — and yet it is very difficult to draw on them in these times.  When I dropped Q off we were talking about Patronus Charms, wondering what our Patronus memories and animals are.  We are both going to think about this between now and the next time we get together. 

What are your Patronus memories, thoughts, and what is your animal?

3 Responses

  1. I wanted to go tonight, but I had a headache and I knew it would be loud. Oh, well, I’ll get there. My patronus would either be a river otter or a dolphin.

  2. Saw the movie too the other day. I think it was a joyous scene when the kids learned the patronus charm. The first animal that came to my head was an elephant then it wasn’t an animal at all though it is named for one… a fast little yellow mustang convertible came to my mind. Hmmmm…

  3. […] interesting, since writing the Expecto Petronum! post I’ve been getting some Harry Potter traffic.  With the new movie and book both out this […]

Leave a Reply

