Happy Birthday to my bro

We celebrated my brother’s birthday today.  He came up from Baltimore and we met at my parents’ place.  Then we all went out for Italian food. 

My brother and I are nearly six years apart in age ~ nearly serial only children.  As kids, we never had much in common, just that we were raised in the same family, under the same roof.  I was the annoying little sister.  He was the horrible, older brother who picked on me.  Oh the stories I can tell (and do). 

Our relationship changed when I was 21.  Both Bro and I were visiting The Parents for Random Holiday ~ he from New York State, me from college.  Bro had plans to visit an old friend (I’ll call him Joe) who he always visited when in town.  I remember Bro and I hanging out talking in my parents’ bedroom talking.  After awhile, he suddenly said, “hey, you wanna go out for a drink?  I’ll call Joe and cancel.”  Whoa!  Cancel with Joe…  this was serious.  He wanted to go out with me, Little Sister, instead of Joe.  I said, “yes,” we went to a local bar for a few drinks and hung out there and talked.  We continued that for years everytime we were both home visiting The Parents.  We’ve been friends ever since.  Interesting thing, I would choose him for a friend even if he weren’t my brother.  Lucky for me, he chose me that day.

Happy Birthday!

2 Responses

  1. Hi there,

    Happy birthday to your brother! Hope he had a great day! There is 10yrs age difference between myself & my brother & we are not close at all so i can certainly relate to your comments.
    Have enjoyed visiting your blog and will definetly be back! Come & visit us at http://www.littlemissladybird.com/journal & if you want we can swap links, let me know!
    Have a great evening!

  2. Happy Birthday to your brother!

Leave a Reply

