Cool link on motherhood

I like what Different Dirt has to say about motherhood and I don’t think I could say it any better. While I’m not into the drums, I don’t think I’ll be a typical mom. I don’t cook, I don’t bake, I barely clean, and I won’t identify myself primarily as a mother (that will be an important part, but not not all of me). However, as this link shows, this isn’t what it needs to be about. In the famous words of Seinfeld, “not that there’s anything wrong with that,” (traditional motherhood, in this case)… it’s just not me.

One Response

  1. Oh awesome post on a-typical mothers! I have told Cavatica but few other people that I am in the process of becoming a foster mother……. they mentioned adoption and I freaked…. too much too fast but I’d love to reach out to hold the hand of a little one.
    I’m a cleaner, cooker, baker but to heck with floral print aprons and washing windows!
    My Mom was also a “housewife” with only aspirations to raise her children and I think she left me feeling desperate to avoid such an empty existance….. maybe that is why at 40 I have no biological kids?
    I think about picking wild blueberries with kids, learning outdoor survival, teaching about all that life can offer but not what it limits!
    I don’t have tattoos but I did shave my head at one time. I wouldn’t drive with my child in my lap but I don’t think kids need to wear protective padding to take a walk in the park either! Bumps and bruises are a part of life.
    There’s a Helen Keller quote I just love: “Life is a daring adventure or nothing at all.”

Leave a Reply

