Anniversary with my sister

Q (that’s her blog name) and I met through Big Brothers/Big Sisters on May 31, 2000.  Today we celebrated our seventh anniversary by doing what we do every year ~ go to Old Country Buffet for dinner.  That’s where we went seven years ago because BB/BS had free tickets since the restaurant had just opened and we decided to take advantage.  I remember that day.  I was nervous, as I didn’t have much experience with kids, but Q made it easy.  She told me all about a book she was reading, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  I later borrowed it, read it, and I’ve been hooked ever since.  I’m very excited about the last book coming out in June and another movie.  Eventually, I introduced Q to Star Wars and we’re both big fans of that, too. 

Q and I have been through a lot in the past seven years ~ thick and thin, big and small.  I’ve learned so much from her and look forward to many more years of sisterhood and friendship.  Thanks Q!  Rock on.

Ps.  Check out the pearls on that girl.  I made them.  Not the pearls (I’m no oyster), the necklace.

7 Responses

  1. Love the picture of you and Q. Cute girl. My college roommate has had her little sister for about 15 years now, and it is so weird to see her as she is married and has a baby now. She was just a little girl when they met. Has been a great experience for both of them. my girlfriend says that Angela helped her be a better parent.
    I am sure you have both been a positive influence on each other.

  2. I don’t have your email and wanted to invite you to continue following Madeline’s blog. Email me, K

  3. Happy Anniversary! I’m so glad you got the pearls for her–she looks like she loved them!

  4. What a wonderful picture, Cavatica. And heartfelt kudos for being a Big Sister – very special, but we already knew that about you.

  5. Happy Anniversary to you and Q!

  6. Happy Anniversary smiley ladies!!

    Keep smilin!

  7. What fun, sistah-gurl!

Leave a Reply

