Birthday celebration

Tonight we celebrated the birthdays of my mom, dad, and aunt.  My dad and aunt just had birthdays (both turned 84), but my mom’s birthday isn’t until August (she’ll be 80), but we wanted to include her in the gift.  First we went out for Indian food, which was delicious.  Then we went to my parents’ apartment and gave them their other gift.  We are renting a StoryCorps kit, so they can interview a personal story from their lives.  For years I have been listening to StoryCorps on NPR (National Public Radio) on my way to work on Friday mornings and I always enjoy them.  StoryCorps is the recordings of ordinary people interviewing each other about their lives.  These recordings are then added to the StoryCorps Archive, housed at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.  StoryCorps booths are located around the country, but there isn’t one near us right now, so we decided to rent a kit.  We’ll have it for a week in May and we’ll do the interviews then.  My brother &/or me will interview my dad and my mom and aunt will interview each other (they are sisters).  None of them were aware of the StoryCorps project, but they are excited about it.  They will get a CD of the recording and their story will be archived at the Library of Congress and maybe played on NPR. 

3 Responses

  1. That is the coolest gift ever! So thoughtful.

  2. That is super cool!

  3. […] Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.  We will get CDs of the recordings.  This is a birthday gift for the three of […]

Leave a Reply

