So what’s up?

I often can’t publish with Blogger from home and it is FRUSTRATING!!!  And, I’ve thought about changing a few things about my blogging style.  I thought I’d give WordPress a try.  So welcome to my new experimental blog.  The other was an experiment in the beginning, of course, too.

 The goal of my past blog were in many ways the same as this one, to inform my family and friends about the progress of our adoption and eventually show and tell our story from China.  However, I had no idea how involved I would get in the whole blogging phenomenon!  I guess I should have known.  I was a journal writer from way back.  I started in high school when a Chinese gentleman gave me a book to write in.  I used it as a journal.  Funny, I had forgotten that the first journal is Chinese and was given by that man.  He was from the mainland and came to my father’s college to learn about the largest university in the United States.  At the time, the very early ’80s, that was the State University of New York (SUNY).  Ironically, my dad taught at a little 2-year ag and tech school.  He was a great guy and we spent a lot of time with him.  My dad helped teach him to use a fork and knife and to drive a car and he taught us to use chop sticks ~ an important skill, considering my dad’s next job was in Taichung, Taiwan!  It took me a good year to fill that first journal, but eventually I filled 50 books.  It was a frantic, unhappy journalling, but it kept me going.  I stopped when I no longer needed to see myself reflected in my own written words. 

But then I found blogging.  I found the writing that I enjoy and the community of other bloggers with similar goals.  This is a whole different thing than the old, dusty journals ~ open, planned, but still somewhat addictive.  I love to write.  But, I’m tired of the frustration of the other blog.  I’ll let you know how this goes.  If I like it, I’d like to move the other posts here, if I can.  However, I may edit them to the new style. 

Now it’s time for a picture to see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

