Second Christmas

Today we celebrated with The Huband’s family at his parents’ house. It was a lovely day with young, old, family, and friends. We had ham, shrimp, and Alaskan king crab legs. Many nice gifts were given and received. A few favorites include: the V-Tech Fly and Learn Globe, which we got for our niece. Both The Husband and I played with it quite a bit before we wrapped it. It’s a very cool toy and we may have to get one for The Kidlet in case they aren’t making them in 2 years when she’s ready for it. I gave The Husband a Galileo thermometer and he got a pizza stone and lots of books.  He gave me a pair of diamond earrings, which I’ve always wanted. I got lots of books:

The Echo Maker by Richard Powers
The Mummy at the Dining Room Table by Jeffrey Kottler and Jon Carlson
Rescuing Patty Hearst by Virginia Holman
Bryson’s Dictionary of Troublesome Words by Bill Bryson
The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards
Mao’s Last Dancer by Li Cunxin

I also got a wearable blanket, which as a chronically cold person I know I’m going to like. We also got some money for our China trip and the kidlet got some money for her bank account. She called to say thanks. (Boo hoo, no, she didn’t. Why didn’t we get her a cell phone?!) My cousin got me a neat little pin with a note saying it reminded her of our granny and the kidlet. I couldn’t imagine how that could be until I saw it ~ it’s a four-leaf clover with a ladybug on it! Our granny was quite skilled at finding four-leaf clovers. I remember just walking along and she’d say, “look, there’s a four-leaf clover!” And, sure enough… there was. I don’t know how she did it. I’m keeping the note with the pin because Granny always had notes with jewelry and we treasure them as much as the jewelry. I’ve always liked ladybugs, even before this adoption and the ladybug mythology entered my life. So, I have this Granny~Kidlet pin. How sweet.

On January 7th we’ll have Third Christmas with The Husband’s extended family, the ever-growing clan. I’m off tomorrow and will be meeting an out-of-town friend for lunch. We’re having Indian food, which we always do when she is here. I can’t wait to see her and have some curry!

2 Responses

  1. DIAMOND EARRINGS!!!! Lucky girl and wonderful husband! Sounds like a great celebration diamond earrings or no. And Indian food, yummmm — I’m so hungry for lunch right now.

  2. Sounds like a lot of fun! And Alaskan king crab legs–yum!!

Leave a Reply

