Race Changers

I stayed home sick again because I’m coughing and sneezing. My voice is significantly better, but still not my own.

I found an interesting website this morning called Race Changers.

Race Changers is a community of people working towards an anti-racist future, one week at a time.

Each week a new assignment is posted and readers are encouraged to join the discussion on the topic. There are three assignments related to international adoption that are very interesting:

Assignment 5: Understanding the complexities of international adoption
Assignment 6: How our views of international adoption were shaped
Assignment 7: Talking about international adoption

So far, Assignment 5 has the most comments and it is a thought-provoking read. It brings up the ethical issues of international adoption, which are on my mind a lot. I haven’t commented on the site, but it has stimulating my thinking. I’ll definitely be checking in on the site from time to time and have added a link to it under “Other Favorites” at the bottom of my links. Check it out and let me know what you think.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for posting this link. There is A LOT to read and digest on that site. Some of the comments bothered me, as I think some came from slightly ignorant people who really have no direct knowledge of international adoption outside of the one article. This one comment in particular was a bit irritating:

    I have a question: What advice is their for people who are interested in adopting for good motives? To clarify… The article seemed to say there was a point when people had more child-focused motives in adopting, but now it’s singles and infertile couples who are adopting for their own selfish reasons.

    Selfish reasons?

    M & I were talking about it a bit, and despite all the racial identity concerns that most of us do think about, the other option at this point is either moving to China and raising our child there (not very feasible for most of us) or having the children remain in China but raised in an orphange, which hardly seems like a more favorable option.

    Lots to think about here…

  2. Also, did you notice that sbird and elsie were referenced in the first comment on #5?

  3. Yes, the comments are a little one-sided. I read a few blogs written by Korean adult adoptees and some of them are rather angry about adoption and that view is represented on this site. But I pay a lot of attention to them. I take what they say as a warning and use it to help guide my thinking. I thought about the “selfish reasons” for adopting too. Don’t most people have children for selfish reasons? In fact, one might argue that adoption is less selfish than having biological children since there is no evolutionary advantage. I do have concerns that a market for children may be created. It’s a complicated situation with no easy answers. I do think China probably has the best ethics of any international system.

Leave a Reply

