Calculating

I’ve had this idea, inspired by a&mg, to swim to China. They are walking to China. I’ve been working on the math.

The distance from LA to Beijing is 6257 miles. There are 5280 feet in a mile and 150 feet in a lap at the pool. That’s 220,246 laps. I’m doing about 30 laps a week. Let’s say I increase to 35 laps a week or a mile a week. It will take me 6,257 weeks or 120 years to complete my goal. What was I thinking?!?!?! Maybe I’ll swim to the airport. Now, will we fly out of Harrisburg, Philadelphia, or Baltimore? The Husband suggests Baltimore because it’s downstream. Any thoughts from Blogland?

Oh, and for my accountants out there… I’m planning to swim tomorrow. In fact, since I was a little tired this morning I’m going to bed a little early tonight so I’m ready. I need to be ready for my trip down the Chesapeake.

4 Responses

  1. What if you swim 6257 laps instead?

  2. I blew it today — I conveniently forgot to bring my swim stuff to work. I know some people do the walking to China as a group goal. But even if we split the distance between the two of us, it would take 60 years! Hmmm, I like a&mg’s idea about 6,257 laps…

  3. I guess I just need to get off my ass.

  4. I just got your comment–I SHOULD count Guinness’ miles!! But I think we’ll keep it to people miles.

Leave a Reply

