Beautiful Blogger Award

I got this award from My Minivan Rocks! and I’m just so thankful, mostly because she said this about my blog:

 I just started reading this blog a few weeks ago, but her posts on raising children without religion made me go out and buy Parenting Beyond Belief. Christian and I are taking turns reading it. ~ My Minivan Rocks 

Whoever would’ve thunk that I’d get an award for writing about raising my daughter without religion?  I mean, the internet is full of blogs about people raising their children with loads of religion, and while I don’t have a problem with this (a few of my favorite bloggers do this on occasion), I often see a dark side – full of intolerance of people who don’t believe the same as them.  People of other religions or worse yet, people who don’t believe in any religion.  Who don’t believe in a god at all.  And rarely do you see a blog in which someone writes about not believing in God.  Perhaps this is for the same reason I didn’t for so long, I was nervous… afraid of being slammed.  Now I’m several weeks into this and my reception has been, well… wonderful.  And now an award because I write about this… how cool is that?  

So, here are the rules (there are always rules): 

1. Pick 15 bloggers to pass the award on to.
2. Share seven things about yourself. 

15 Bloggers, in no particular order:

  •  a little nonsense now and then - I go here to see what she’s doing with her kids, wonderful bunch (I want to meet your latest!).  Also, k is an awesome writer, always drawing me in, even when the topic is hard.  She addresses adoption topics I think on endlessly, wanting to blog about them, but can’t find the words.  Then I read her and there they are.  She’s also intensely spiritual and I admire her devotion to her own ideals and curiosity about others.  She gave me the courage to express my own, as I began to realize that maybe it would be okay.  Thanks.
  •  Our Little Tongginator - Tonggu Momma is a fun and informative writer.  I go again and again to read of the antics of the Tongginator, Tonggu Momma, and to learn more about adoption issues through her Sunday links to more blogs than I can really ever hope to follow.  I don’t know how she does it.
  • Tell Her This - I’ve been following Kris since her Ellis was only a dream.  It’s been truly awesome to watch her realize that dream… and others too.  Kris is a truly, wonderfully, spiritual person and it oozes from her.  I admire her ability to raise her daughter, following her lead, sensing her strength, honoring her, and describing it for us all.  It’s a gift.
  • Solo and the Wookie - I started reading this one when they were in China, discovering it because their daughter is from the same SWI as Bing-Bing and I couldn’t resist her cute face.  I keep going back, for that face, but also for the way this difficult transition is described with such love and honor – always putting the little one first and like #3, knowing when to lead, when to follow, and knowing attachment comes at the child’s pace.  There’s a lot to learn here.  Oh, and I’m dying to know who is Solo and who is the Wookie.
  • Tzuhsimama - Looks like she’s taking a blogging break, but I love her blog, as her kids really crack me up.  She seems to have a great sense about parenting.  I can’t stop going back.
  • Mei Mei Journal II - I can’t resist these kids and would like to see them more often.  I’m astonished how hard it is to actually see people in real life.  Also, I enjoy MMJ’s information on adoption issues.
  • Mother, Mother Ocean – I go for turtles, snow globes, and a boy named Z.
  • Third Mom – She is an endless source of information on adoption ethics.  Truly.  There is a wealth of information on this blog.
  • Shadow Between Two Worlds - I’ve been reading Mei-Ling for a long time and have learned so much about what it is like to be adopted.  Her statement, “I believe adoption is the biggest, most paradoxical mess of issues that no one wants to truly confront because it means questioning their own beliefs and happiness,” really resonates for me.  Her ability to address adoption issues from her perspective has been extremely valuable to me.  When I read her, I feel challenged, but not defensive – an ideal state for learning.  Thanks.
  • The disloyal subject of the red queen – Madduchass hasn’t been blogging for a while and I miss her voice.  She’s a blogger I always think I’d like to meet, as I think we have a few things in common.
  • Wanderer’s Daughter - QQ is such a sprite, in some ways reminding me of BB.  I love the way Maia writes about QQ, motherhood, and supports it all with beautiful pictures.  It’s a beautiful blog.
  • Mama D – My mind spins in a beautiful way every time I read her blog.  She gets me thinking in many, many ways.
  • Deep Tangents – M is an infrequent blogger.  I wonder if being a single, working mom has anything to do with this?  But many of her posts are gems and worth waiting for.
  • A Wrung Sponge – This is a wonderful blog devoted to reviews of children’s literature, especially those that are inclusive of diverse ethnicities.
  • Hungry Ghosts - Holly hasn’t been blogging lately either and I miss her.  She is a voice for both adoptees and adoptive parents and well worth hearing.  I hope to hear more from her.

 7 things about me:

  • More than anything else in the world, I hate getting up in the morning.
  • I am nontheistic.  I’ve decided I like this label better than atheist or agnostic.  This week, anyway.
  • I don’t like to swear by taking any god’s name in vain or even any religious ideal in vain.  I do say, “oh my gosh,” but I have issue with it, since the gosh represents God.  I do not want to be disrespectful to religious folk.  I often say “holy cow,” but I don’t like that so much either.  There are those who worship cows.  By saying this am I disrespecting what is holy to them?  Am I disrespecting them?  I don’t want this.  I like to say “holy moly” and I have wondered “what is a moly and why is it holy?  So, I looked it up.  According to Wiktionary, 
 the origin of the word Moly…comes from Homer’s Odyssey. In book 10, Hermes gives the herb to Odysseus to protect him from Circe’s incantation. Homer describes Moly by saying, “The root was black, while the flower was as white as milk; the gods call it Moly, and mortal men cannot uproot it, but the gods can do whatever they like.”

The expression “holy moly” is first used in 1941 in the Captain Marvel comics.  So, I think I’m safe in not offending anyone religious, but maybe there’s even something to be said regarding the use of holy.  Not sure about that.  But I do feel that expressions of surprise and anger are appropriate… no important.  I mean, who drops a bowling ball on their toe and says nothing?  You gotta have something in your repertoire of “swears” and I have to say, if I do that, I’m fairly certain that what comes out might start with ” sh–” and it won’t be 5 letters long.

  • I work with people who have sustained mild to severe traumatic brain injuries.  Sometimes those of them who have trouble otherwise speaking still swear really well. Or sing.  The injured brain is still quite adept at singing and swearing.  How’s that for peculiar?
  • If I had my life all over again, thus far, I would choose to skip my 20s.  Or maybe more like 18-28.  That was a rotten 10 years.
  • Becoming a mother was the most terrifying and wonderful thing I have ever done.  Life is funny like that for me.
  • I hate going to bed at night too.  As it turns out many transitions are difficult for me.
8 Responses

  1. oh my (word), this is seriously incredibly nice of you… it’s been so long since i’ve “written”- i’ve resorted to mostly pictures. iife is BUSY. this really means a lot, and you named so many of my friends!! i love M from deep tangents, and just discovered Solo and the Wookie before they traveled- what an awesoem site, and of course Maia and Nicole. i feel like i’m among cebs!!

  2. celebs, that’s supposed to say. of course.

  3. Thank you kindly!

  4. Umm….. ahem…….
    we met each other when we were both going through those turbulent 20′s. Can we skip the decade but keep some very important things and people that we encountered during that time?

  5. Thank you so much – I’ve written so little lately I have to say it’s undeserved, though, which makes it all the more appreciated :)

  6. Thank you! I saw your note about this post, but I had lost your blog for a while there…eek! Found again. As for your seven things, I realize more and more how much you and I have in common. Glad of the friendship.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

